Meet Joe Koch…he likes Pinky!
What is a good wine? That is
a never ending, but universal question. Everyone asks “what’s a good
wine?” And I always answer, what wine do you like? Because whatever wine that
is, then that’s a good wine. It really does not matter what I say, or
what the “wine experts” say. All that matters is if you like a wine, then to you, that’s a good wine.
![]() |
Harry &
his Carlo Rossi!
|
The number one selling wines
at a lot of Texas wineries are sweet wines. And if you look at the number one
selling wine in the US, White Zinfandel, you would have to say that a lot of
people must like it. To them, it’s a good wine.
![]() |
| Joe Koch likes Pinky! |
On one of our visits to a
Napa winery, Joe was looking around their very dark wood paneled tasting room. One
of the winery staff walked up to Joe and asked if he could help him. To this
Joe replied, “you got any Pinky…you know white Zinfandel”. I promise Joe does
not live in a trailer, but he did get a fairly rude response!
So is white zinfandel a good
wine? Well to me the answer would be a resounding NO! But if you like white
zinfandel, the answer would be yes. And to a whole lot of wine drinkers, the answer
is yes, and that is why white zinfandel was developed.
You see the US wine industry
faced major problems after prohibition. Only wineries making wines for
religious purposes had remained open, and most wine grapes had to be replanted.
But finally in 1976 the US wine industry beat the French in a blind tasting.
And with that win, the US wine industry started to grow. But the growth was
primarily with existing wine drinkers. To get new ones, they had to get a US
population that primarily drank beer and mixed drinks to try wine.
![]() |
White
Zinfandel AKA Pinky!
|
I will never forget the line
in the movie The Jerk, where Nathan tells his waiter he wants more wine, but bring him the
new stuff not any of that old wine. And as I tell Joe, his White Zin has
probably only aged a week. But much to my chagrin, Joe is doing what the wine
industry hopes new wine drinkers will do, he is trying more wines. For now he’s only
drinking white wines, but he has started the journey toward better wines. And
who knows, someday he may even try some dry reds.
Not everyone starts at sweet wines. My
youngest son and our daughter started off liking bold reds. "Lucky me," they like
the wines in our wine cabinet, especially the expensive ones! But that’s also the point, different people
like different types and styles of wine. So there is no answer to the question
“what’s a good wine.” If you like it,
drink it!
And the next time you see
someone drinking White Zinfandel, don’t be a wine snob, realize they may be
starting their own journey toward a wonderful wine adventure!
Harold
Please Add Your Comments Below & Join Our Blog on the Top Right Side of This Page !!!
Please Add Your Comments Below & Join Our Blog on the Top Right Side of This Page !!!




Harold, I have been enjoying your wine blogs. I can't wait to get back to one of the porch parties and drink some Carlo Rossil with Harry. You do have a picture of one of my favorites--White Zinfandel, Barringer's White Zinfandel! A snobby woman once told me that it was "trailor trash wine." I am still drinking it and still loving it. Of course, John has introduced to me to some finer wines. theBAT (John's mother-in-law)
ReplyDeleteI knew my mother would love this! Great article:))
ReplyDeleteAnd momma, it IS your White Zin. I took the picture at your house and sent it to Harold - haha.
DeleteThe best part about white zin may not be the complexity or vintage, but you have to appreciate the cost. I wonder if it's possible to find a botte of white zin that is more than $10 (excluding the magnum and box sizes).
ReplyDeleteRegards,
Twobuck Charles
I cannot image paying more than $10 for a bottle of Pinky, and I am pretty sure you can't!!
DeleteHarold, is Joe Koch a real person, or did you make him up for your blog???? Only in Texas....'ya gotta luv him.
ReplyDeleteYes Joe Koch is a real person and a real Texan! You could not make him up if you wanted to, and I would not want to change him...well ok thats a sretch!! joe is my Brother-in-Law and one of my best friends, Pinky and all!!!
ReplyDelete